The Forrest Family

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria. UK

Summerlands Hall was originally built in 1846 for the then Mayor of Kendal who, according to the BBC Your Paintings website might have been either Cornelious Nicholson, Mayor of Kendal (1845–1846) and author of"The Annals of Kendal" or Samuel Whineray, Mayor of Kendal (1845–1846& 1848–1849).

A picture of each hangs in Kendal Town Hall where it ought to be possible to unravel these seemingly contradictory attributions.

A large extension was completed in 1896 to add the billiard room and guest suite when the Radcliffe family acquired the property and they lived in it until around the outbreak of the 2nd world war.

Shortly after that it was acquired by the Liverpool Seaman’sMission to establish a convalescence home for seamen unable to return to the sea and where they could learn new skills.During that period the coach house was developed into a light joinery shop and small industrial estate which it remains as today.

The house was sold in 1977 to developers who split the house into four parts. The main house, known as Summerlands Hall, a smaller but still very imposing part of the house known as Summerlands Tower (because it has a tower) and the servants quarters to the rear known as Summerlands Court. Thereis also a one bedroom annex that is part of the sale along with SummerlandsHall.

In 2008 we moved to the property after the previous owners undertook some renovations which have restored some glorious features that we will be sad to leave behind. Summerlands Hall is anarchitectural gem and is stuffed full of features that will take your breathaway.

Features restored include several stunning ceilings which had become neglected.

In the roof was replaced, they created the knot garden and uncovered and renovated the stunning wood flooring, this house has beenreturned to its former glory.

Floors previously covered in carpets were uncovered to reveal the beauty of the wooden floors. Plus the sash windows were renovated sothat they worked properly and a new oak staircase built to reflect the style of the house and all the stained glass windows were professionally restored.

The restoration uncovered some wonderful finds. In the family room you will see six stained glass windows, two of the panels feature apaean of praise to smoking tobacco by Charles Kingsley so we are pretty sure this used to be a smoking room.”

The date stone above the door reads 1846 when it’s thought Summerlands Hall was built as the home for a Mayor of Kendal. It was a verygrand house for this time but it was extended even further in the late 1800s bythe Radcliffe family who added the billiard room. Their coat of arms can stillbe seen in some of the stained glass windows.

We also love the billiard room which has a huge skylight and it is a wonderfully light and bright room. The room is popular at Christmaswhere we can easily seat 22 people without even moving the snooker table! Thehouse also features a Chinese living room which is decorated with beautifulhand painted Chinese silk wallpaper. The restored ceiling and floor are breathtaking. The room also has very large windows on two sides with stunning viewsof the garden and the hills beyond.”

Outside to the gardens there is about three or four acres.There is an excellent hard tennis court. Near to the Lakes with the Yorkshire Dales to the East and the coast to the West it’s a stunning property that is simply utterly beautiful but practical to live in.

We bought the house nearly seven years ago and never intended to move but unfortunately the needs of our disabled child have meant we need to find a property more accessible for her.

We are extremely sad to be moving but know that whoever purchases Summerlands Hall will no doubt be as proud and pleased with it as we have been. We don’t think we will ever live in a house as grand and beautiful as this one.

Penny and Stuart Forrest.

The history of Summerlands Hall

$SIGNUP$
$VALIDATION$
Working... Please wait